"Baranek jazzowy" (Jazz lamb) a bronzestatuette by Marian Gołogórski - a Krakow sculptor. The statuette design was inspired by prof. Jerzy Skarżyski (1924-2003) drawings of lambs, which are characteristic festival's logo from its very beginning.

The prize is granted to outstanding jazz musicians linked to the history of jazz in Krakow and in Piwnica Pod Baranami club and cabaret. The first has been delivered in year 2001 to Jerzy "Dudus" Matuszkiewicz - saxophonist, Polish jazz personality and leader of legendary "Melomani" combination.

The year 2002 prizewinner was Andrzej Kurylewicz- composer and piano player and Wanda Warska - singer outstanding individuals of Polish jazz and classical music particularly active in founding of Polish jazz in the fifties.

In the next two years: 2003 prizewinner was WojciechKarolak - legenday pianist and composer and 2004 was Zbigniew Namysłowski - one of the most oustanding Polish and European jazz saxophonist .

In 2005 laureate was cracow's charismatic saxophonist Janusz Muniak.

In 2006 laureate was saxophonist Przemysław Dyakowski - jazz animator and the Cellar under Rams' friend.

In 2007 laureate was Tomasz Stańko.
In 2008 laureate was Andrzej Trzaskowski.
In 2009 laureate was Roman "Gucio" Dyląg".
In 2010 laureate was Jan Ptaszyn Wróblewski.
In 2011 laureate was Jan Boba.
2012 Jan Kudyk.
2013 Jarek Śmietana.
2014 Andrzej Marchewka.
2015 Jan Jarczyk - posthumous.
2016 Janusz Grzywacz.

The prizewinner is selected by a jury: Witold Wnuk - Festival director, Piotr Ferster (till 2010) manager of The Piwnica pod Baranami and prof. Jerzy Skarżyński (1924-2003) - a set designer, co-founder of the Piwnica pod Baranami and devoted jazz aficionado.